What You Need To Know About Child Custody:
When a child is born to married parents, both parents have full child custody rights until a family court rules otherwise. The mother and father are joint guardians of minor children and equally share the responsibility of welfare and education of those children. Neither parent’s right supersedes the other; and each parent, whether the custodial or non-custodial guardian, has equal access to their children unless otherwise ordered by a family court.
When a child is born to unmarried parents, the birth mother retains full child custody unless the mother relinquishes her rights or a court order states otherwise. If paternity is acknowledged, the father may petition for visitation rights or child custody.
Child custody and visitation arrangements are extremely flexible, and there are many options to consider during the negotiation phase. Proximity to parents’ homes, work schedules and the desire to maintain a close parent-child relationship are just a few of the many factors to be considered when arranging child custody or visitation schedules.
Typically, the non-custodial or the “visiting” parent is ordered to pay child support. The amount of child support necessary can vary greatly. There is a free South Carolina Child Support Calculator, which can estimate your child support payment.
Every child custody or child support case is different, so there is no one size fits all approach. By aligning yourself with a child custody attorney who has extensive South Carolina family law experience, you will have a clear approach to handle your situation.
Bannister, Wyatt & Stalvey can be your guide through the complexities of child custody or child support cases. Our family law attorneys are available for comprehensive consultations tailored to your needs. To set up your appointment, simply call us (864) 523-7738. We have an online form if you would like to provide us with more information about your case click here.
A minimum consultation fee of $300 is required on all family court matters. Please take a minute to read our Frequently Asked Questions.
Q: Am I required to pay child support if I don’t have any contact or visitation with my child or children?
A: Yes, all parents are required to pay child support regardless of how often you contact or visit your child or children. The only instance where this may not be necessary is if your parental rights have been terminated.
Q: Can the Department of Social Services (DSS) force me to submit to a drug test?
A: No, DSS does not have the right to force you to submit to a drug test; however, by refusing the test, it does give them reason to suspect drug use in the home and they may seek removal of any children.
Q: I have a court hearing requesting that I pay child support. What should I do?
A: Every situation and family court matter is unique. When possible, we recommend contacting an experienced family law attorney to help you navigate family court and ensure the best outcome for you and your children. Our family law attorneys are available to help. We require a minimum consultation fee of $300 on all family court matters. Schedule a comprehensive consultation by calling us today at 864-523-7738 or contact us online.
Q: We have an uncontested divorce and are in agreement on everything. What are the fees for an uncontested divorce?
A: While an uncontested divorce may feel like an open and shut matter, our attorneys give all family court matters a comprehensive review and consultation. We require a minimum consultation fee of $300 on all family court matters. Since divorce includes two parties, we can only represent one spouse in this instance.