Our award-winning criminal defense lawyers have deep experience defending cases involving sex crimes in South Carolina, and will devise a strong defense while explaining what you are facing. Our attorneys are ready to help you now. Contact us
What You Need To Know About Criminal Sexual Conduct Charges:
Criminal Sexual Conduct (CSC) charges take many different forms:
- CSC in the First Degree is where aggravated, physical force is used to accomplish sexual battery; where forcible confinement, kidnapping, robbery, burglary, housebreaking, extortion or any other similar offense is used to accomplish sexual battery; or where the victim is rendered mentally incapacitated or physically helpless by the use of controlled or intoxicating substances.
- CSC in the Second Degree is where aggravated coercion, or threat of violence, is used to accomplish sexual battery.
- CSC in the Third Degree is where the accused has participated in sexual battery and either a.) uses force or coercion to accomplish battery in the absence of aggravating circumstances or b.) had reason to know the victim was mentally unsound or incapacitated, or physically helpless, and aggravated force or coercion was not needed to accomplish battery.
- CSC with a Minor in the First Degree is where sexual battery occurs with a victim who is 11 years old or younger; or where sexual battery occurs with a victim who is 16 years old or younger and the accused is a registered sex offender.
- CSC with a Minor in the Second Degree is where sexual battery occurs with a victim aged 11-14; or where sexual battery occurs with a victim who is 14-16 years old and the accused has familial, custodial or official authority to coerce the victim to comply.
- CSC with a Minor in the Third Degree is where the accused willfully or lewdly commits or attempts to commit a lewd or lascivious act upon a child 16 years old or younger with the intent of arousing or appealing to sexual desires of the accused or the victim.
- Criminal Solicitation of a Minor is where the accused knowingly contacts, communicates with, or attempts to contact or communicate with a person who is 18 years old or younger.
Criminal Sexual Conduct, if convicted, is punishable by up to 30 years in prison – depending on the act, the victim and the degree of the charge. A convicted sex offender may also become a registered sex offender, which will influence where one can live or work.
Choose a criminal defense attorney familiar with Criminal Sexual Conduct defenses that will be by your side throughout the proceedings. It is important that your counsel understands South Carolina’s laws and draws on years of experience to ensure you are receiving the best possible guidance.
Bannister, Wyatt & Stalvey is here for you. Our free consultation will walk you through next steps in your case and advise you on scenarios for defense. Call our offices (864) 523-7738 or contact us online to set up an immediate, confidential appointment.